Heaven’s Angel

Heaven has gained the most beautiful angel.

Theo’s health had been declining over the last week. We were increasing his oxygen intake daily as he was showing signs of respiratory failure. Overnight on Sunday, he took a turn for the worst and we made the decision to fly Mark home yesterday morning.

Last night, Mark and I were able to spend a few beautiful hours cuddled up with Theo until he passed peacefully from my arms and into his Grandpa’s.

It is no coincidence that Theo chose Monday to part from this world. My courageous little boy is now free from pain and suffering and I couldn’t imagine a greater miracle.

42 comments

  1. My heart is breaking for your loss but I know Theo is a very special angel and now free from suffering. My prayers go out to you and your family.

    1. Theo touched all our lives in one way or another. Thank you for sharing him with us. He is free of pain now and knows no sorrow but here on earth he will be truly missed! Praying for you ♡

  2. Mark and Ashley. As a parent, my heart aches for you both. But I thank you for allowing so many of us to get to know Theo throughout his journey. My deepest condolences to you and your families.

    1. SO very sorry to read of your precious Theos passing! Praying God will pour His peace out on you as you walk through this tough time!! May you find some comfort in all the wonderful memories you made with him in his life !

  3. thank you for sharing your beautiful boy with others. It has been an honor to take a small part in his little life. Many prayers for you all.

  4. Ashley and Mark thank you for sharing Theo’s journey. He was the strongest little boy and is no longer in pain. RIP Theo.

  5. My deepest condolences to you and your families. Although Theo is gone from this earth and is free of the pain, he is never gone from your thoughts, memories and most of all your heart. As you continue to cherish each thought and memory, he will never leave your heart. You are both amazing parents.

  6. Dearest Mark and Ashlee,

    I never had the privilege of meeting you or your son, but I have been praying for you for months now. There are some things in life, I believe, that we are never meant to understand. I don’t know that losing a child will ever be something we understand or accept, but we must trust that God knows what He is doing and has a reason for calling little Theo home. I know that there are no words that can be said to make this any easier, as the loss is so great, but I pray you find solice in the fact that Theo is with the Almighty now. He is safe, he is strong, and he is happy! And there will be no more pain, tears or sorrow. I believe with all my heart we will see him again. Until then, my heart and prayers are with you. I am so sorry for your loss. God Bless you and your family.

  7. My sincere condolences to you and your loved ones during this difficult time. You and Mark are inspirational parents and have displayed the utmost courage and love for your child during this journey. May Theo rest peacefully with in heaven, free from any more pain and suffering. Praying for you always.

  8. Mark and Ashley – we have been praying for you both and Theo ever since his story appeared on our newsfeed through Eva. Our prayers go out to you in this time. Many God grant you strength and peace. Oh blessed little Theo, who is free from his suffering! May he rejoice in the Lord!!

  9. Mark and Ashley – I’m so sorry for your loss of beautiful Theo. I’ve thought of him each and everyday and I’m so sad to have hear this news. Theo will always be your beautiful boy! My thoughts are with you both – Keep smiling Theo, you’ve touched so many people.

  10. Mark and Ashley,
    My heart weeps with you and our tears are not lost on the Father. He has welcomed your sweet Theo into His embrace, to dine at His table and to run, laugh and dance thru the fields with other children. I am so, so sorry for your loss. Small consolation that it is, I rejoice at his freedom from pain. We WILL see him soon enough and you two will be able to do all that you missed doing with Theo here on earth. I hope he finds our sweet boy, Augen, and goes on many adventures with him. It would make me smile to learn they are friends right now. ❤ Stay strong and do what you must to let go. There is a new little life on the way and that child needs you to love freely. We will keep you ALL in our prayers in the coming days and weeks.
    Love and support,
    Stacey, Steve, Cailey and Mia Lane

  11. Thinking of you both during this difficult time. Theo was an extraordinary little boy with such strength and courage. May you find comfort in all the beautiful memories and time that was spent with him. He was so very lucky to have you both as parents and even in his short life he was surrounded by so much love. I will never forget this precious little angel. Prayers to you both- xo Marnie and John

  12. I am so saddened to hear that brave little Theo lost his fight. I have been following your story. I am glad that he is no longer in pain. I wish you and your family the best. Please know how many lives your son has touched. Much Love, Erin

  13. Mark and Ashlee… I had the honour of meeting you and Theo at the fundraiser in Harrow. You both had such joy in your eyes, talking and looking at your precious Theo! I admire your strength and determination to not have his last months confined to his crib. You gave him the best life and love possible,, take comfort in that. My thoughts are with you, your family and friends and everyone who had the pleasure of meeting little Theo. Rest peacefully, little one ❤

  14. Mark and Ashley. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this time. I was at the fundraiser last week for Theo and had the pleasure of meeting your little guy. He just melted my heart. The love that was in that room that night was so wonderful and it was great to share that evening with all your family and friends. May God bless you and keep your beautiful memories of such an amazing son close to your hearts and may it help you through your difficult time

  15. Thank you for sharing Theo with us all.Our prayers and thoughts to you and your family during this very difficult time.

  16. Our family is thinking about you all. You, your husband and Theo have been an inspiration to all of us. Although we have never met, please know that your love for your son has touched all of us.

  17. We lay claim to knowledge through aha moments: defining ourselves through epiphanies, learning and growing through realities and gaining strength and character through passions and futility. Your sharing of your baby boy’s struggles and achievements is not only a selfless and courageous act but I’m sure it has created a huge and distinct impact on many people’s lives. We who needed to count every blessing in our lives. . We who needed to see the beauty and miracle of every life. .We who needed reminding that it is more important to share in other’s pain and loss instead of to fear or back away from it. . We who are humbled by the endurance and spirit and beauty you created out of your baby boy’s sweet life by telling his tale. We who may now share your grieving and help keep the light and life of your precious son alive in the softest most tender and revered places in our hearts and souls. May the comfort of being with your loved ones and the passing of each day bring healing to your hearts.

  18. My heart is truly sadden by this. A beautiful Blessing this little boy has been to the many lives he’s touched. Thankyou for allowing us to get to know this amazing little boy throughout his courageous journey. There are no words that can be said, but I do pray that you and your families will find peace and strength in knowing this little angel is free from his suffering and that he is now safe with God. My deepest condolences and God bless you!! Rest in Peace little one.

  19. There are no words to express how deeply sorry I am for your loss. No parent should lose their child. Wherever he is, I know it’s in a better place than here and he know how deeply loved he was by the both of you.

  20. My heart weeps with you as Theo’s parents but is happy that Theo is free to run and play with Grandpa Joe. We will continue to pray for those left behind that our Heavenly Father will show His love and compassion and that you will be able to rest in His care with your new little one.

  21. My love and continued prayers are with you and your family. Theo made a greater impact on peoples lives in his short time than many do in a long lifetime. Your strength and faith have been an inspiration to us all. God bless each of you and he has received Theo into his grace and restored his health. Grandpa will take good care of him until you meet again.

  22. Dear Ashlee & Mark,
    My heart broke when my brother Rob P. (Timmins’ paramedic) told me that Theo had passed. I did cry, but paused and felt some comfort and peace to know that his pain was no more and your family can now start to heal. Though Theo’s life was short only God knows just how many lives his story has touched. I thought I should say a prayer for Theo’s soul but then realized that Jesus immediately took him into his arms and brought him straight to his house in heaven. I will never forget Theo and your family. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Rest now and know that he is at peace. Take care and look forward with joy and reassurance knowing that God is always with us. Monique (Ottawa, ON)

  23. ….Our Little Fighter…
    God from Heaven
    Is it to be true
    You’ve taken their Angel closer to you
    Know God picks but only a few
    Sweet precious Theo
    We dearly love you
    Goodbye is always hardest to say
    When someone so young is taken away
    Know Theo will be watched from above
    And with each ray of sunshine
    He’ll be sending his love
    We will deeply miss our little fighter
    Forever in our hearts to stay

    Goodbye little angel….Love Nene…

  24. I am so sorry to hear of Theo’s passing. I have been following your journey online for the last few months and the strength of your family is amazing. Take solace in that Theo is now free from pain. My thoughts are with your family.

  25. All of us here in Australia are feeling so sad and sending you hugs. I loved reading your updates and all the things you were able to do with Theo, the memories you made. We mourn with you as Theo became part of our lives too. His little body has been made perfect. He will know no more pain and is safely wrapped in Jesus’ arms xo

  26. I’m sorry seems so inadequate for all that your family and your sweet boy have been through. I’m glad that you were able to hold Theo close in his final hours. What an amazing gift of love you gave him. You and your family will be in the thoughts and prayers of so many. Thank you for sharing Theo’s journey with us.

  27. Wow.. I am soooo sorry for your loss. Heaven gained a beautiful angle and you will have a guardian angel looking over you just like you were looking after him. Please accept my deepest condolences and may God give you strength to get through this painfully time. Xoxo

  28. Mark and Ashlee, I was so sorry to hear from Lucas about Theo’s death. Even with all of his struggles and yours, I always kept a little candle burning in my mind and heart that he would somehow continue to defy the odds. Now that little candle continues to burn…for you two, your new little one coming along, and all of your family and friends. Theo no longer needs my little heart candle, because he’s lighting up everything around him.

    As time goes along now, as you adjust to the many huge changes, I am sure that you’ll find ways to weave Theo into your lives. That’s one way I got through when our first son died, and it has helped in so many ways over the many years. I don’t know how it all works, but I’m guessing that our Mica and your Theo are hanging out and having a good time now.

    Please know that I will be thinking of you, probably for the rest of my life, because you’re such wonderful people and I’m so glad to have had a little time to know you in Timmins. And who knows, maybe we can have a visit again sometime if I get down south.

    Take good care of yourselves and each other, Ashlee and Mark. I look forward to hearing through Lucas what’s happening in your lives. Kate

  29. You are strangers to me but I followed your posts as if you were family. I prayed nightly for Theo and your family and will continue to do so. May his little body find rest and may you find peace.

  30. oh ashley, you are a tough woman and mother for all you have been going through and have gone through. so very sorry and deepest wishes for you to find a peace that may allow you to continue to be strong for not only yourself but also your new little one soon to be. I wish I could do more to comfort you at your difficult times but although i have not seen you in so long i think of you often and hope that you have more sunny days in the future xox.
    sincerely
    trista naveau

  31. Please keep us updated. We (strangers to you) have been with you through it all. Praying that your dear son would beat the odds, mourning with you and now joyously awaiting an update on how you are doing and if your newest one has made their arrival. Please keep writing, I know so many who look forward to your updates. God bless and keep you all your days.

Leave a Reply

