Miracle Mondays – Fly a Little Higher

And we’ll go up, up, up

But I’ll fly a little higher

We’ll go up in the clouds because the view is a little nicer

Up here my dear

It won’t be long now, it won’t be long now

If only I had a little bit more time

If only I had a little bit more time with you

The above lyrics are from a song titled ‘Clouds’ written by Zach Sobiech when he was seventeen years old. Zach, a teenager from the US, passed away last year, at the age of eighteen, from a rare form of cancer called osteosarcoma. With months left to live, Zach wrote the lyrics to this song and proceeds are now being used to support research for his rare disease. If you have a few minutes, please check out his inspiring story: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NjKgV65fpo. I’ve never met Zach but after learning of his story last year, I think of him often. His bravery, compassion and strength have served as an inspiration for my life, as it has for millions around the world. Zach knew his own death was imminent and yet lived every day of his life with an enviable peace. In Zach’s words, “You don’t have to find out you’re dying to start living.”

We had a wonderful weekend; Theodore experienced his first trip to the top of the CN Tower on Saturday and was awake and comfortable the entire time! As Mark held him in his arms and we looked out of the observation deck at the clouds above us and the ground below us, these lyrics played softly in my head.

And we’ll go up, up, up but you’ll fly a little higher. If only we had a little bit more time with you, my love.

Today’s miracle was a memorable trip to the clouds where the view is a little nicer.

DSCN1999 DSCN2024
3 comments

  1. I am so thankful you were able to have this wonderful family time. The song is perfect, the pictures were joyful and the memory will never leave you. This, Lord. Please, give them more of THIS. IJN, Amen. ❤

  2. I can hear the song in my head right now. I followed part of Zach’s story on YouTube as it was happening. I’m very happy to see that you’ve created memories that will never be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

